About Us

Our Story

What inspires us? Seeing the world in a new light. Sharing the best visual stories from our backyard and around the globe. Welcoming new friends and ideas. A great party.

The first Calgary International Film Festival was held in 2000 for six days, and was attended by 8,000 people. Within three years, attendance had more than tripled to 25,000 for the expanded ten-day festival. Today it is the largest film festival between the Rockies and the Great Lakes, and has been named “one of the top 25 film festivals in the world worth your entry fee” by MovieMaker Magazine.

Our Mission

The Calgary International Film Festival is an 11-day showcase of over 200 multi-genre films from Canada and over 40 other countries. Hosting gala events, screenings, award ceremonies and special presentations, CIFF changes the way visual stories are shared and experienced.

Each year’s line-up is presented in series that group CIFF’s offerings into easily identifiable categories including Canadian, American and World Cinema, Documentaries, Late Shows and Shorts. We also present a number of awards to outstanding films selected by our audiences and esteemed juries.

In addition to the festival, CIFF presents Doc Soup, a six-month screening series of award-winning and critically acclaimed documentary films presented in conjunction with the Hot Docs International Documentary Film Festival.

Our Impact

CIFF exists to transform the way visual stories are shared and experienced. We discover and share the best and most remarkable, especially those that would not otherwise be seen.

We champion filmmakers, especially new voices, for the delight and benefit of the audience, to whom we are a guide and provider of the best stories, presented within a remarkable festival environment.

CIFF’s vision emphasizes discovery. We are proud to be the first to debut and give exposure to new filmmakers, particularly championing and fostering Alberta’s own creative voices. Highlighting their work alongside that of established contemporaries, we celebrate the new energy and ideas they bring to the future of the art form, and make them an integral part of the exciting milieu of the festival.

The Board of Directors

  • James Pettigrew | President
  • Domenic Venturo | Past President
  • Joe Novak | Vice President
  • Peter Wallis | Secretary
  • Gary Davies | Acting Treasurer
  • Yvonne Chapman | Director
  • Brent Buechler | Director
  • Andrea Cattaneo | Director
  • Teresina Bontorin | Director
  • Darren Zwack | Director
  • Neil Campbell | Director
  • Murray Ord | Director
  • Daniel Doz | Director
  • Doug Wong | Director
  • Lisha Hassanali | Director
  • Debra Ross | Director
  • Janice Harrington | Director


Steve Schroeder

Executive Director

Steve Schroeder

Karolina Gajewska

Operations Manager

Karolina Gajewska

Jennifer Cecconi

Business Development Manager

Jennifer Cecconi

Brenda Lieberman

Senior Features Programmer

Brenda Lieberman

Cole Binder

Technical Screening Coordinator

Cole Binder

Senior Features Programmer

Bruce Fletcher

Shorts Programmer and Programming Administrator

Karilynn Thompson

Guest Relations Coordinator & YYC Programmer

Cathy McKee

Industry Series Coordinator

Taylor Ross

Special Event Coordinator

Courtney Smith

Experiental Programming Coordinator

Mark Hopkins

Marketing & Media Coordinator

Erin Bacon

Media Relations Associate

Lisa Wilton

Copy, Newsletter & Social Media Coordinator

Colin Gallant

Publications & Community Outreach Coordinator

Laura Carlson

Egg Press Co. Production Graphic Designer

Peter Moller

Volunteer Coordinator

Briana Mallar

Print Traffic Coordinator

Derek Clayton

Production Manager

Sam Witt

Box Office Coordinator

Katarzyna Gajewska

Venue Manager Globe Cinema

Mark James Laws

Venue Manager Eau Claire

Megan Jorgensen Nelson

CIFF 2014 Volunteer Previewers

Alex Zisman

CIFF 2014 Volunteer Previewers

Aurica Bondoc

CIFF 2014 Volunteer Previewers

Brennan Tilley

CIFF 2014 Volunteer Previewers

Carla White

CIFF 2014 Volunteer Previewers

Darren Tenor

CIFF 2014 Volunteer Previewers

Emily Miller

CIFF 2014 Volunteer Previewers

Jim Evans

CIFF 2014 Volunteer Previewers

Joel Hamilton

CIFF 2014 Volunteer Previewers

Kimberley Busato

CIFF 2014 Volunteer Previewers

Leonard Lee

CIFF 2014 Volunteer Previewers

Marilynne Hebert

CIFF 2014 Volunteer Previewers

Meghan McKee

CIFF 2014 Volunteer Previewers

Mike Skurko

CIFF 2014 Volunteer Previewers

Sachin Gandhi

CIFF 2014 Volunteer Previewers

Scott Moore

CIFF 2014 Volunteer Previewers

Sheena Manabat